top of page

Taking A Gap Year To Find Myself

After finishing high school at 16, i was lost. While everyone knew what they were going to do, which school they were going to go to, i was lost. I felt the pressure to do something, but what if i had chosen something i didn't like just because i had to? #thestruggle

Felling like the odd one out, i decided to take a gap year... well more like 11 months to be exact. I took this year to travel, work (model) , relax and have fun. I traveled to places starting with Bali-Indonesia, Bintan-Indonesia with just my best friend Suhaila, my second home Cape Town-South Africa, Sweden, Sydney-Australia, York and London in the United Kingdom and lastly finishing off in Johannesburg-South Africa. I practically lived in a suit case...

At the start of the year i was so excited to travel to all these beautiful places, some of them even came up last minute, but through it all, i was exhausted.

I did things i have never done before like snorkeling, archery, traveling alone, going to the 2017 Gothia Cup and many more. I experienced things, and as a teenager i think everyone should do this sometime in their life. Taking a year or even just a couple months, to explore the world and yourself.

My Experience

Anywhere you go will be different, be it the people, the culture or the weather.

For example, when i went to Sydney i witnessed quite a bit of arguments just randomly on the streets and i must say it was pretty hectic to watch. But that's not the main point, some of the people there were really nice! Like when i asked a stranger to help me take a picture, she didn't hesitate ( maybe because i promised to also help her take a pic? oh well haha )

In London, it was busy busy busy especially on Oxford Street (where i stayed). P.S. Primark is awesome! I went between august and September so it was quite chilly.

On the other hand, in bali... OMG i love bali! Despite the traffic, the place was beautiful, especially the beach clubs. I went to Karma beach club ( My #1), Potato Head and Finns Beach Club. I went close to the end of the year and it was suppose to be monsoon period but thank goodness for the sun.

Part Time Job

While i was traveling, sometimes i would have a month break in between and that was when i got myself a part time job at a hair salon working in registration and admin but i also helped clean up here and there. This was something i did so that my parents ( aka father ) would see that i'm at least earning and doing something, but also to occupy myself. I worked 8 hours shifts from Mondays through to Thursdays.

Support

Sure my parents were a bit skeptical at first but they warmed up. Honestly it was a bit hard and irritating at the start when my dad kept asking me " when are u going back to school?"," No school today?"or " did u go to work?" all the time. But i guess he just wanted me to do something with my life instead of just staying at home watching Netflix and munchin on snacks all day.

Current

Now i am back in Singapore taking a private course in psychology because it is something i am and have always been interested in. I have also found the perfect class schedule for me because i can continue to model in between while still having time for myself. I even found blogging through on of my classes and i'm starting to enjoy it :)

Sometimes when the world moves too fast, you get tangled up in the chaos. Don't worry about studying or working too much, live in the moment, you never know when the world will just end and all you've done was the exact same thing over and over again. What i said to myself when i finished high school was " You can study at any age and time". If you're young or even older, do what you want to and not what society is making you do. Try something new.

'In the end we only regret the chances we didn't take'

XX


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page